733 Districts of the country classified into 130 Red zones, 284 Orange zones and 319 Green zones

14 districts of Maharashtra declared Red zone !

New Dehli – Preeti Sudan, Secretary of the Department of Health and Family Welfare informed that the 733 Districts of the country have been designated as Red zones (high risk), 284 Districts as Orange zones (moderate risk) and 319 Districts as Green zones (free from Coronavirus). Preeti Sudan, in a letter to Chief Secretaries of all States and Union Territories, designated Districts into Red, Orange and Green zones. “Since recovery rate has gone up, Districts are now being designated across various zones duly broad-basing the criteria,” Sudan wrote. “The classification is multi-factorial and takes into consideration incidences of cases, doubling rates, extent of testing and surveillance feedback. Some States have raised issues on certain Districts being included in Red zone, but this is a dynamic list and will be revised on a weekly basis.

Metro cities of the country Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bengaluru and Hyderabad have been included in the Red zone. Therefore, the lockdown will remain in force even after 4th May and it will have to be strictly adhered to.

The Green zone comprises of Districts in which not a single coronavirus case has been reported for the last 21 days. In addition, the Orange zone comprises of Districts not classified as either Red or Green zone. The lockdown measures in the cities in these two categories will be given some relaxation. There will be no relaxation in the lockdown restrictions in the Red zones and they will have to strictly adhere to it.