8 BJP MLAs took oath only after Akbaruddin Owaisi was removed from the post of Assembly Speaker

Bhagyanagar (Telangana) – 8 BJP MLAs did not take oath after AIMIM leader and MLA from Telangana Akbaruddin Owaisi was appointed as Caretaker Speaker (Pro-tem Speaker) of Legislative Assembly. Finally, Owaisi was removed from the post and senior Congress leader Gaddam Prasad Kumar took over as the Telangana Assembly speaker. Only then BJP MLAs attended the oath ceremony. The BJP MLAs had taken the stand that they would not take oath until Akbaruddin Owaisi was removed.

BJP MLA T Raja Singh taking oath in 2023

After Kumar was sworn in as the third Assembly Speaker of Telangana, MLA T Raja Singh, Yeleti Maheshwar Reddy, Venkataraman Reddy, Payal Shankar, Paidi Rakesh Reddy, Ramarao Patel Pawar, Dhanpal Suryanarayan and Palavai Harish Babu were administered the oath of office and secrecy. Gaddam Prasad Kumar is the first Dalit Speaker of Telangana Legislative Assembly.

Editorial Perspective

This is a slap to those who talk about trying to eliminate Hindus. In other words, it is equally true that a self-respecting MLA would have resigned from his post after such humiliation.