Mallikarjun Kharge is the new Congress President !

Mallikarjun Kharge

New Delhi – Mallikarjun Kharge has won the election for the position of Congress President. He got 7,897 votes, while his rival Shashi Tharoor got 1,072 votes. There is information that more than 400 votes were rejected. Shashi Tharoor Tweeted and thanked Kharge after the results were declared. Congress has got a non-Gandhi family President after 24 years. Earlier Sitaram Kesari had been the Congress President during the period from 1996 to 1998. After that, Sonia Gandhi accepted the responsibility of the Congress President.

Kharge will decide what will be my role! – Rahul Gandhi

(Left side) Rahul Gandhi and Mallikarjun Kharge

When Rahul Gandhi was asked, ‘what will be your role in the party ?’ after Mallikarjun Kharge became the Congress President. He replied Congress President shall decide that, I cannot respond. My role will be decided by Mallikarjun Kharge.