Minorities Commission refuses to entertain plea to declare Hindus as ‘minority’ in 8 States

New Delhi – The three-member committee set up by the National Commission for Minorities (NCM) categorically refused to consider a plea to declare Hindus as a minority community in 8 States in the country. The writ petition was filed by Ashwini Upadhyay, a Supreme Court advocate and a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

A report by the NCM sub-committee stated that National Minority Commission does not have the jurisdiction to declare new minority communities and ‘the powers to declare a community as a minority community is vested with the Central Government’.

Upadhayay had stated in his initial petition filed in November 2017 that the National Minority Act needed to be repealed and that guidelines for identification of minorities need to be framed looking at Article 29, 30. The petitioner stated that some states have Muslims in the majority while the rest have Christians in the majority or in substantial numbers and Sikhs are in majority in Punjab. He wanted a directive to these States to declare Hindus as minorities.

Multi Language |Offline reading | PDF